RSS

J’attendrai  ( I’ll Wait) – LEYLA MCCALLA’s version

02 Jun
J’attendrai  ( I’ll Wait) – LEYLA MCCALLA’s version

First album

Her critically acclaimed album Vari-Colored Songs is a tribute to Langston Hughes which includes adaptations of his poems, Haitian folk songs sung in Haitian Creole[6] and original compositions.[8] McCalla says the first song she wrote for the album was Heart of Gold because it provided “a window into Hughes’ thinking”.[15] McCalla chose to dedicate this work to Hughes because she says “reading his work made me want to be an artist.”[8]McCalla started working on the album 5 years prior to its release.[8]Commentators have noted the influence of Louisiana musical traditions such as old Cajun fiddle melodies and trad-jazz banjo on the album.[7] Members of the Carolina Chocolate Drops appear on the album.[7] The album was financed at least in part through a crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter which exceeded its goal of $5,000 to raise $20,000.[14]

 en.m.wikipedia.org

Lyrics in English:

I will wait night and day,

I will wait forever,

For you to come back, I will wait, [I will wait]

For the bird flying away

Comes to seek oblivion in its nest.

Time flies and runs,

Beating sadly in my oh so heavy heart

And yet I will wait for you to come back

 

I will wait night and day,

I will wait forever,

For you to come back, I will wait, [I will wait]

For the bird flying away

Comes to seek oblivion in its nest.

Time flies and runs,

Beating sadly in my oh so heavy heart

And yet I will wait for you to come back

 

The wind is bringing distant sounds,

Watching at the door, I’m listening in vain,

Alas, there is nothing for me to hear anymore.

 

I will wait night and day,

I will wait forever,

For you to come back, I will wait, [I will wait]

For the bird flying away

Comes to seek oblivion in its nest.

Time flies and runs,

Beating sadly in my oh so heavy heart

And yet I will wait for you to come back

And yet I will wait for you to come back

 

Time flies and runs,

Beating sadly in my oh so heavy heart

And yet I will wait for you to come back

 
 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
